I have been caught in an eco-pity party several time lately.  A pity party thrown, of course, by myself.  Wallowing in what seems to be an eco-friendly void.  Here in Metro Philadelphia, PA it seems as though everyone on the West Coast, UK, or insert-far-off-place-here has abundant opportunity to live an eco-friendly lifestyle.  Where I am merely Sisyphus pushing an every growing carbon ball up a hill, only for it to roll down for me to start over again.

Well, turns out it’s not so bad here in Pennsylvania, and it might actually qualify as good!  Philadelphia is taking steps to be a prominent green city and has started implementing several tangible small steps.  And the casa de la Nesta is moving toward minimal dependence on the grid.  We are pursuing solar energy!  With Federal Tax incentives and an incredible state rebate program, there’s some easier green living in Pennsylvania.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement.  Over the next several months I’m hoping to highlight the journey (hopefully with an emphasis on a joyful road) of getting our system up and running and touting it’s benefits far and wide.  I’ve been amazed at how little information there seems to be out in the blogophere about more homes going down that road.

So, here I am.  My little urban house in the Northeast.  Doing my part to be more self-sufficient and hopefully helping others realize the benefits.

Stay tuned!

